MINSEONG / GUIDES

UAE eInvoicing for Government Entities: the Article 5(1)(c) timeline explained

Published · Official sources last reviewed 22 October 2026 · 9 min read

UAE eInvoicing has a separate timetable for a Government Entity. Article 5(1)(c) of Ministerial Decision No. 244 of 2025 sets an appointment deadline for an accredited service provider (ASP) of 31 March 2027 and an implementation deadline of 1 October 2027. These dates are not a revenue band and should not be read as another way to classify an organisation by annual turnover.

This guide explains the wording and timetable, how they differ from the two revenue-based phases for private-sector categories, and what Decision 66/2026 did and did not amend. It also covers practical checks to make before relying on the dates. It does not decide whether a particular public body, supplier, transaction or invoice is within scope. The Government Entity definition, supplier-side obligations and technical requirements have not been verified in the source record used for this guide. Penalties for eInvoicing violations are set in a separate instrument, Cabinet Decision 106/2025 (see our Cabinet Decision 106/2025 penalties guide); we have not confirmed whether or how it applies to Government Entities.

The government phase in Article 5(1)(c)

Two dates, two milestones

Article 5(1)(c) identifies “A Government Entity” and states two milestones. The first is appointment of an ASP by 31 March 2027. The second is implementation of the Electronic Invoicing System by 1 October 2027. Appointment and implementation are different tasks: selecting a provider does not itself demonstrate that the organisation has implemented the system, and a planned implementation date is not evidence that the work is complete.

The dates are statutory timetable dates quoted from the decision, not a project plan tailored to an individual entity. The time required for procurement, internal governance, data preparation, integration and testing depends on circumstances that this source review does not establish. Treat the two milestones as points around which to organise an internal assessment, not as a guarantee that any organisation will be ready merely by selecting a provider.

It is not a third revenue bracket

The government paragraph is structurally different from Article 5(1)(a) and (b). Those paragraphs describe revenue-based categories of persons subject to the system. Article 5(1)(c) names a Government Entity instead of specifying a revenue threshold. An organisation should therefore not try to decide whether paragraph (c) applies by comparing its revenue with AED 50 million alone.

This distinction matters when an organisation has a complicated structure or carries out activities that resemble those of a private business. The source record for this guide does not establish the legal definition of “Government Entity” or resolve edge cases. Identify the wording of paragraph (c), then verify whether the entity meets the applicable legal definition and whether a specific scope rule or exception changes the result.

How the three timetable categories compare

The three timetable entries in the current source record are summarised below. The revenue-based dates are described for persons subject to the Electronic Invoicing System; the government entry is the separate Government Entity paragraph. These dates alone do not determine the scope of every entity or transaction.

Category in the decisionASP appointment deadlineImplementation deadlineBasis
Revenue equal to or exceeding AED 50 million30 October 20261 January 2027Article 5(1)(a), as amended by Decision 66/2026
Revenue below AED 50 million31 March 20271 July 2027Article 5(1)(b)
Government Entity31 March 20271 October 2027Article 5(1)(c)

The first row includes exactly AED 50,000,000 under the amended wording of paragraph (a). The second row is for revenue below that boundary. The third row does not say “below” or “above” a revenue amount: it uses the Government Entity category. Do not use the table as a substitute for checking whether the entity or transaction is within the system in the first place.

For more detail on the revenue definition and the inclusive AED 50 million boundary, see our guide to the UAE eInvoicing revenue threshold. For a wider overview of all three timetable entries, see our guide to UAE eInvoicing deadlines.

What Decision 66/2026 changed

The amendment is limited to Article 5(1)(a)

Ministerial Decision No. 66 of 2026 replaces Article 5(1)(a) of Decision 244/2025. The replacement concerns persons subject to the system whose Revenue is equal to or exceeds AED 50,000,000: their ASP appointment deadline is 30 October 2026, and their implementation deadline is 1 January 2027. The binding decision uses the inclusive phrase “equal to or exceeds”. This is why exactly AED 50 million belongs in that category rather than the below-threshold category.

Decision 66/2026 does not directly replace Article 5(1)(b), Article 5(1)(c) or Article 5(2). The government dates in paragraph (c) therefore remain 31 March 2027 for ASP appointment and 1 October 2027 for implementation in the sources reviewed for this guide. It would be misleading to describe Decision 66/2026 as replacing the whole timetable or changing the government phase to the large-revenue dates.

Announcements and the binding text

The Federal Tax Authority announcement of 29 September 2026 summarises the two revenue-based schedules and qualifies them by reference to persons subject to the system. The Ministry of Finance eInvoicing programme and legislation page is a useful starting point for checking the underlying decisions and subsequent publications. For the government phase, consult Article 5(1)(c) directly rather than inferring its treatment from a press announcement about revenue categories.

Scope comes before scheduling

Check Decision 243/2025 and later amendments

A timetable provision is not a complete answer to whether a particular entity or transaction is in scope. Decision 243/2025 deals with scope and exclusions. Ministerial Decision 197/2026, in force from 1 October 2026, amends Decision 243/2025; the Ministry announced those changes on 19 October 2026. The source record notes, among other changes, a temporary exclusion for Business Transactions between members of the same Tax Group for 24 months starting 1 January 2027.

That Tax Group rule illustrates why checking scope separately matters. It is recorded as an amendment to Decision 243/2025, not a change to the government dates in Decision 244/2025. Do not assume that this one exclusion describes the full list of excluded transactions, or that it applies to an organisation merely because it is publicly owned or works with another public body. The complete application of the amended scope rules to a particular entity or transaction requires a separate check.

Government-related sales and the B2C exclusion

Article 5(2) of Decision 244/2025 excludes B2C transactions and persons engaged exclusively in B2C transactions until a further ministerial decision determines otherwise. It may seem intuitive to classify every sale to a government customer as something other than B2C, but that conclusion is not established as a universal legal rule in the source record used here. A supplier should verify how its customer and transaction are classified under the relevant legal texts and seek qualified UAE tax advice where the classification affects its obligations.

Do not assume that the government's own timetable automatically establishes every obligation of every supplier selling to a Government Entity. This guide has not verified supplier-side duties, the legal definition of a Government Entity or technical requirements. Penalties sit in the separate Cabinet Decision 106/2025, and whether it applies to Government Entities has not been confirmed. These points are intentionally identified as unresolved rather than filled in with assumptions.

Our guide to the B2C exclusion explains the wording of Article 5(2), including why a mixed business needs a separate scope check. Our guide to Decision 197/2026 discusses changes to Decision 243/2025 and the limits of what has been verified about exclusions. Our transaction scope guide explains how B2G sales and sovereign Government Entity transactions are treated under Articles 3 and 4 of Decision 243/2025.

Choosing an ASP: verify current accreditation

Article 5(1)(c) sets an ASP appointment milestone, so provider selection may be one practical workstream to plan. The source record also notes that the Ministry of Finance announcement on Decision 168/2026 describes a revised accreditation framework that removes the former pre-approval stage and introduces direct accreditation. An old “pre-approved” label should not be treated as proof of current accreditation.

Before relying on a provider's status, reconfirm current accreditation through official channels. Do not treat a marketing claim, an old screenshot or a historic pre-approval description as definitive evidence. This guide does not name or rank providers, verify a provider registry, or describe application criteria, fees, contract terms or technical capabilities. Those matters were not verified in the source material used for this article.

For broader selection questions and a practical provider-checking sequence, read our guide to ASP selection and Decision 168/2026. That sequence is editorial planning guidance, not an official government checklist.

A practical sequence for a Government Entity

The following is a planning aid, not an official test or a legal determination. It helps a team organise questions that need answers before it relies on the timetable.

  1. Read the primary text. Start with Decision 244/2025 and read Article 5(1)(c) in context. Keep the official PDF and record the version consulted.
  2. Confirm entity classification. Establish, with qualified advice if needed, whether the organisation meets the applicable meaning of “Government Entity”. The definition was not verified in the source record for this guide.
  3. Check scope and exclusions. Review Decision 243/2025 as amended by Decision 197/2026, including the complete current exclusions list. Do not infer applicability from the timetable alone.
  4. Separate the two milestones. Track ASP appointment and implementation as distinct deliverables, each with an owner, dependencies and evidence of completion.
  5. Verify ASP accreditation. Check current status through official channels under the framework described in Decision 168/2026 before treating a provider as accredited.
  6. Document unresolved questions. Record uncertainty about the entity definition, supplier relationships, transaction classification and any technical or legal requirements rather than treating assumptions as settled.
  7. Check for later official updates. Revisit the MoF programme and legislation page and relevant FTA publications before making a decision, because this article reflects the source review date shown above.
  8. Obtain qualified advice. Ask a UAE tax or legal adviser to assess the entity's facts against current binding instruments. This guide is not an applicability opinion.

Frequently asked questions

What are the government-phase deadlines?

Article 5(1)(c) of Decision 244/2025 states an ASP appointment deadline of 31 March 2027 and an implementation deadline of 1 October 2027 for a Government Entity. Confirm the current legal text and whether the relevant entity is covered before relying on these dates.

Is the government phase based on revenue?

No revenue threshold is stated in Article 5(1)(c). It identifies a Government Entity. The two private-sector timetable entries in Article 5(1)(a) and (b) are expressed by reference to Revenue. Whether a particular body meets the legal definition of Government Entity is not resolved by this guide.

Did Decision 66/2026 change the government deadlines?

Decision 66/2026 replaces Article 5(1)(a), which concerns the equal-to-or-exceeding AED 50 million category. It does not directly replace paragraph (c). The government dates in the source record therefore remain 31 March 2027 and 1 October 2027.

Does the government's timetable automatically decide a supplier's obligations?

No such universal conclusion is made here. The supplier's own position depends on applicable scope rules and the facts of the transactions. Supplier-side duties have not been verified in the source record used for this guide.

Are sales to Government Entities definitely outside the B2C exclusion?

This guide does not state that as a universal legal conclusion. The classification of a customer and transaction should be checked against current legal texts. Article 5(2) addresses B2C transactions and persons engaged exclusively in them, but this source review did not verify a complete legal definition of B2C transactions.

What does Decision 197/2026 change?

It amends Decision 243/2025, which concerns scope and exclusions. The source record describes a temporary exclusion for Business Transactions between members of the same Tax Group for 24 months starting 1 January 2027. The decision does not change the dates in Decision 244/2025 recorded here.

What technical requirements and penalties apply?

This guide does not specify technical requirements because those details were not verified in the source material used for this article. Penalties for eInvoicing violations are set in a separate instrument, Cabinet Decision 106/2025, which our penalties guide explains; we have not confirmed whether or how it applies to Government Entities. Consult current official instruments and qualified UAE tax or legal advice rather than relying on an unverified summary.

Official sources used in this guide

Related guides

Important notice

This article is general educational information published by MINSEONG.COM, an independent website. It is not legal or tax advice, is not an official government publication, and does not determine whether any entity or transaction is subject to the UAE Electronic Invoicing System. The legal definition of Government Entity, supplier-side obligations and technical requirements were not verified in the source material used here, and whether Cabinet Decision 106/2025 on penalties applies to Government Entities has not been confirmed. Official sources were last reviewed on 22 October 2026; subsequent instruments or guidance may change the position. Check current Ministry of Finance and Federal Tax Authority publications and consult a qualified UAE tax adviser before making decisions. You can also use our interactive eInvoicing readiness tool or review key dates. See all our guides.